Technical Award

TAPPI's International Nanotechnology Division

Summary of the Technical Award:

The NanoDivision's Technical Award recognizes individuals for their outstanding accomplishments or contributions to the scientific or engineering knowledge that have helped advance the industry’s technology in renewable nanomaterials.  The NanoDivision’s awards committee assess each nominee with respect to novelty & impact of research contributions, the creation and implementation of new technologies, positive impact on people’s careers, contributions to the NanoDivision, and the number & quality of publications.

How to Nominate:

Have a look at the Technical Award assessment criteria and weighting.  If you know someone worthy of this award, please download the nomination form, complete all requirements, and submit to TAPPI (Lisa Stephens).  

  • The 2019 Nominations will open on 1-Feb
  • Submission deadline for 2019 nominations: 15-April 2019
  • Download Nomination Form


2018 NanoDivision Technical Award and FiberLean® Technologies Prize

Wadood Y. Hamad, MA, PhD


Dr. Hamad is an expert in nanomaterials, soft matter physics and the development of sustainable high-tech applications from bio-based materials. He obtained his PhD in Materials Science from McGill University in 1994, and has been a Principal Scientist with FPInnovations, since 2003. He is now the Science Manager of the Transformation and Interfaces Group within the BioProducts Innovation Centre of Excellence, FPInnovations. Wadood also holds an adjunct professorship at the University of British Columbia’s Department of Chemistry.

Prior to joining Paprican, now FPInnovations, Wadood was Senior, then Principal, Scientist at International Paper’s Corporate Research Center (1998-2003). He was also a tenured Lecturer in Materials Science at the University of Manchester, UK (1994-98). While at IP, Wadood was responsible for the development of key patented technologies for packaging design and performance. At FPInnovations, he is responsible for the scale-up, implementation and commercialization of cellulose nanocrystals. He holds over 22 patents in the fields of cellulose nanocrystals applications, polymer composites and packaging technology, and has published over 100 papers in journals such as Nature and Advanced Materials. Wadood has also written seven book chapters and three monographs, most recently on Cellulose Nanocrystals:  Properties, Production and Applications (Wiley 2017). He is a fellow of the Royals Society of Chemistry and the Institute of Materials, Mining and Minerals (UK).

2017 NanoDivision Technical Award and FiberLean® Technologies Prize

Dr. Yano

President of Japan Nanocellulose Forum

Born in Nagano Prefecture, Japan, Dr. Yano graduated from the School of Agriculture, Department of Forestry and Wood Science, Kyoto University in 1982. In 1986, after leaving the doctoral program at Kyoto University’s graduate school, he began working for the Kyoto Prefectural University’s Faculty of Agriculture, becoming a lecturer at the university in 1992. In 1998 he joined the Kyoto University Wood Research Institute as an assistant professor, and became a professor at the University’s Research Institute for Sustainable Humanosphere in 2004. He was a president of Japan Nanocellulose Forum from 2014 to 2016.

2016 NanoDivision Technical Award and FiberLean® Technologies Prize

Alain Dufresne

Professor - Grenoble Institute of Technology

Alain Dufresne received his PhD in 1991 from the Department of Electronics at the National Institute of Applied Science in Toulouse (France). He was then Postdoctoral Research Associate at Polytechnique Montreal (Canada), and Temporary Lecturer and Research Assistant at the National Institute of Applied Science in Lyon (France). He was appointed Associate Professor in 1993, and then Professor in 2001, at Joseph Fourier University in Grenoble (France). He is now and since 2003 Professor at Grenoble Institute of Technology. He has been visiting Professor at the Federal University of Rio de Janeiro (Brazil), at Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (Malaysia), and at the Brazilian Agricultural Research Corporation (Embrapa) in Fortaleza (Brazil). His main research interests concern the processing and characterization of polymer nanocomposites reinforced with nanoparticles extracted from renewable resources. He has published over 230 peer-reviewed papers related to these topics. He and his students have given many conference presentations and he has been invited numerous times as a speaker in conferences, universities and research centers worldwide.

2015 Nano Division Technical Award and IMERYS FiberLean Prize

Orlando J. Rojas

Aalto University

Rojas received his undergraduate degree from Universidad de Los Andes in Venezuela, before obtaining his master’s degree in paper engineering from the Polytechnic University of Catalonia in Spain. He subsequently received a PhD in Chemical Engineering from Auburn University. Other academic training includes postdoctoral fellowships in KTH and the Institute for Surface Chemistry in Stockholm. Prior to his current position as professor of bio-based colloids and Materials at Aalto University in Finland, Rojas was professor in the departments of forest biomaterials and chemical and biomolecular engineering at North Carolina State University. Earlier in his career he was a senior scientist appointed by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences in the Royal Institute of Technology, a postdoctoral fellow in the Institute for Surface Chemistry in Sweden, and research assistant at Auburn University. Rojas was appointed as Finland Distinguished Professor from 2009-2014 and was Chair of the Division of Cellulose and Renewable Materials of the American Chemical Society from 2009-2011. He was elected with the distinction of Fellow of the American Chemical Society in 2013, an accolade that is testament to the exceptional level of his scientific and professional contributions. Other merits include his appointment as a Faculty Scholar of NCSU and his receiving the ACS Division Award of Cellulose and Renewable Materials

2014 NanoDivision Technical Award and IMERYS FiberLean Prize

Dr. Richard Berry


Richard is leader of the nanotechnology initiative at FPInnovations until moving to CelluForce in 2011, Dr. Berry has numerous scientific accomplishments and a long experience of overseeing the industrial application of his numerous inventions. He received the 2009 Nano-industry award from NanoQuébec for his exceptional contribution to the development of cellulose nanocrystals. He is the winner of the 2012 Purvis Memorial Award and most recently become one of Canada’s Clean 50 honourees. The initiatives Dr. Berry has spearheaded in recent years have allowed Canada to position itself as a world leader in the development of this new nanotechnology industry which was recognised through the 2012 NSERC Synergy award for innovation given to McGill University, FPInnovations, ArboraNano, and CelluForce and culminated in the awarding of the 2013 Marcus Wallenberg prize to Derek Gray of McGill University for his pioneering work on this material. Dr. Berry has taught numerous courses for TAPPI and PAPTAC, and chaired the 2000 International Pulp Bleaching Conference. He has received many pulp and paper Industry awards and is a TAPPI Fellow. Berry also holds seventeen patents, and his work has been published in more than ninety articles and two monographs. Berry received a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Chemistry and Geology from Keele University in Staffordshire, England in 1975. In 1980 he earned a Ph.D. in Chemistry from McGill University in Montreal, Canada.