Student Award

TAPPI's International Nanotechnology Division

Summary of the Student Award:

The NanoDivision's Student Award recognizes current students or students within one year post graduation for their research contributions related to renewable nanomaterials and service to the NanoDivision and other professional societies.  The NanoDivision’s awards committee assess each nominee with respect to novelty & impact of research contributions, Impact on community, contributions to the NanoDivision, and the number & quality of publications.

How to Nominate:

Have a look at the Student Award assessment criteria and weighting.  If you know someone worthy of this award, please download the nomination form, complete all requirements, and submit to TAPPI (Lisa Stephens).  

  • The 2020 Nominations will open on 1-Feb
  • Submission deadline for 2020 nominations: 15-April 2020
  • Download Nomination Form


2019 NanoDivision Student Award

Kevin De France

McMaster University

Kevin De France is a PhD Candidate in Chemical Engineering at McMaster University in Ontario, Canada. He is co-supervised by Dr. Todd Hoare and Dr. Emily Cranston, and his research interests center around the design of structured cellulose nanocrystal based hydrogels for biomedical applications. After finishing his PhD, he will start a Post Doc with Dr. Gustav Nyström at Empa - Swiss Federal Laboratories in Switzerland. Kevin is an active member of the TAPPI Nano community, attending conferences in Grenoble, Montreal, and Madison, and is a co-founder of the TAPPI Nano Student Committee where he currently holds an Emeritus leadership position.

2018 NanoDivision Student Award

Nathan C. Ellebracht

Georgia Tech

Nathan Ellebracht is a PhD candidate finishing his fourth year in the Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering department at the Georgia Institute of Technology. He is funded by and works closely with the Renewable Bioproducts Institute (RBI) of Georgia Tech and works in the research group of Prof. Christopher Jones. He received his bachelor’s degree in Chemical Engineering from UC Berkeley before moving to Georgia Tech for his PhD. He has had the fortunate opportunity to attend four years of TAPPI Nano conferences, starting in Atlanta in 2015. Within Georgia Tech and beyond he has been strongly involved in the nanocellulose community, helping start the Cellulose Nanomaterials at Georgia Tech ([email protected]) group, being a co-founding board member and current co-chair of the TAPPI Nano Student Committee, and more.