Conference Student Poster Competition Winners

Students from around the world are recognized for their outstanding research.

Sponsored by:

2018 Winners

Each year at the annual conference, a Student Poster Competition is held.  Sponsored by Georgia Tech/Renewable Bioproducts Institute, the top student posters receive a cash prize.  Posters are judged by a panel of experts evaluating the goals of the research, presentation of results, and significance of the contribution to the current body of knowledge.


First Place
Augustus Lang, Georgia Institute of Technology
Paper-Based Electrochromic Devices Enabled by Nanocellulose-Coated Paper and Spray-Processible Oxygen Barrier Layers

Second Place
Sami El Awad Azrak, Purdue University
Large Scale Production and Mechanical Properties of Mechanically Fibrillated Nanocellulose Films

Third Place
Anurodh Tripathi, North Carolina State University
Recipe to Synthesize Aerogels with Tunable Properties: From Design Principles to Application

2017 Winners

First Place 

Oriana M. Vanderfleet, McMaster University (Canada)
Optimization of Cellulose Nanocrystal Length and Colloidal Stability through Hydrolysis with Phosphoric Acid

Second Place

Meri Lundahl, Aalto University (Finland)
Effect of Wet-Spinning Dope Rheology on Spinnability

2016 Winners

First Place - Tie

Stephanie Kedzior, McMaster University (Canada)
Controlling Latex Morphology with Cellulose Nanocrystal and Methyl  Cellulose

Kevin De France, McMaster University (Canada)
In situ magnetic alignment of cellulose nanocrystals in injectable hydrogel composites

Third Place

Michael Reid, McMaster University (Canada)
Cellulose Nanocrystal Interactions Probed by Thin Film Swelling

2015 Winners

First Place 

Bailey Risteen, Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, Georgia, (USA) -link to Poster-
Renewable Biomaterials to Encapsulate and Align Synthetic Semiconducting Polymers

Second Place

Youngman Yoo, Purdue University, West Lafayette, Indiana (USA) -
link to Poster-
Development of Microcapsules Containing Surface Modified Cellulose Nanocrystals for Medical Applications

2014 Winners

First Place

Yuji Meng, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, Tennessee, (USA)
Carbonization of microfibril cellulose aerogel: surface, structural and absorption properties

Second Place

Jenna Schardt, Oregon State University, Corvallis Oregon (USA)
Cellulose Nanofibers: A template for sodium ion battery anodes

Third Place

Judith Margaret Winglee, Duke University, Durham, North Carolina (USA) 

Cellulose Nanofibril Enhanced Microfiltration Membranes

2013 Winners

First Place

Christina Schütz, Wallenberg Wood Science Center, Royal Institute of Technology and Department of Materials and Environmental Chemistry, Stockholm University (Sweden)

Carbon Aerogels from Bacterial Nanocellulose as Anodes for Lithium Ion Battery

Second Place

Virginie Bigand, Grenoble INP Pagora - LGP2 (France)

Use of Different Quality of MFC for Producing Controlled Release Films

Third Place

Assya Boujemaoui, KTH Royal Institute of Technology (Sweden)

Nanostructured Biocomposite Materials of poly-?-caprolactone and High Surface Area Nanopaper

2012 Winners

First Place

Madhu Kaushik, McGill University (Canada)

Catalytic Materials Based on Metal Nanoparticles Supported onto Cellulose Nanocrystallites: Applications in Hydrogenation Reaction and Heck Coupling

Second Place

Javier Cuervo, University of Alberta (Canada)

Multiscale Modeling of the Structure, Thermodynamics and Interactions of Nanocrystalline Cellulose Particles in Electrolyte Solutions

2011 Winners

First Place

Justin Zoppe, PhD, NC State University Department of Forest Biomaterials (USA)
Thermo-responsive Polymer Brushes Grafted from Cellulose Nanocrystals and their Interfacial Behavior

2010 Winners

First Place

Terhi Hirvikorpi, VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland (Finland)
Gas and moisture barrier on bio-based packaging materials by atomic layer deposition.